Friday, September 11, 2015

A Theology of Christian Geekdom

My article A Theology of Christian Geekdom has been acquired by Canadian Christian geek zine Geekdom House. You can check it out here.

I'm goin' north for the winter.


Thursday, September 10, 2015

Great Review of the Quantum Fall of Thaddeus Archibald DuBois

I'm happy to report that reviews for the Quantum Fall of Thaddeus Archibald DuBois are overwhelmingly positive. Here's one of my favorites from episode 1, Peter Pan Complexes for the 21st-Century Man:

I had the opportunity to read a draft of the story prior to publication, and just finished reading the finished product moments ago.

QUANTUM FALL is a first-person present narrative, with the author as its main protagonist, and it involves time travel. Normally, this combination of elements would cause me grave concern, and in fact it did despite Mr. Martin's reputation. I confess, I was terrified by this prospect of first-person-present-autobiographical-time-travel-fiction.

I am extremely pleased to report to you, potential readers, that my fears were not only unfounded, I found myself a tremendous fan of the book even before I was done reading the acknowledgements. (Sorry, I couldn't resist.)

Daniel Rodrigues-Martin is a capable and witty author--clearly well-read and versed in the art of crafting prose without becoming prosaic. His dialogue is amusing and crisp, his characters straddle the fence between the real and fantastic, and I hope he is willing to report to Mr. DuBois that this reviewer looks forward to reading more of their strange adventures through spacetime.

This is the first installment of what promises to be a fun-filled steampunk alt-history serial. It is a quick read, but worth every red cent on Kindle. I will be waiting in earnest for more, and recommend that you join me. It was a tossup between 4 and 5 stars, but I tend to be a little stingy with that last star on first-in-series books.

Buy The Quantum Fall of Thaddeus Archibald DuBois, Episode 1, on Amazon.

Listen to Quantum Fall: Volume 1's playlist now on Spotify!


Wednesday, September 9, 2015

An Autumn Veil: Final Chapter Listing

It'll be six years in November since I began An Autumn Veil.

I'm going through my final edits. Hopefully, the next people who edit this manuscript will be professional agents and editors.

Here's the final chapter listing.

Prologue: The Prose Of Photius, Record 1: The Burning Night

1: The Autumn Garden
2: Midnight
3: Ghosts of Chimon-Jing
4: The Trainman
5: The Conclave
6: What Friends Are For
7: Helmsman's Folly
8: The Merchant Arcade
9: A Special Place in Hell
10: We Should Be Sleeping
11: If The Stars Are Willing
12: Broken Promises
13: The Only Life I've Ever Known
14: A Well To Draw From
15: What Tomorrow Holds
16: A Lovely Day
17: Revelations
18: City On The Winds
19: Storm Clouds
20: Event Horizon
21: To Reap A Whirlwind
22: Falling
23: The Heavens Remained Silent

Interlude: The Prose Of Photius, Record 2: The Rain Of Ash

24: Awakenings
25: Prison Cell(s)
26: The Voice On The Other Side
27: Greasers
28: The Knowledge Of Good And Evil
29: A Letter From A Murderer
30: Into The Hinterlands
31: I Am Of The Gifted
32: Judsung Hollow
33: The Wrong Business
34: The Bridge Of Noph
35: A Good Death

Interlude: A Convergence Of Fates, Part 1: The New Guy

36: Four Things
37: Hell And All Its Demons
38: Where I'll Stand
39: Puzzle Pieces And Pawn Coins
40: One Of Us
41: The Talisman
42: Signed, An Anonymous Appreciator Of Fine Mechanics
43: A Convergence Of Fates, Part 2: Which Way To Go
44: Arcologies
45: Staying Dead
46: Lost And Found
47: A Threshold Of Courage
48: A Root Of Evil
49: Truth
50: Starlight
51: The Dryad
52: The Nonagon Directive
53: Deja Vu
54: The Blood On Our Hands
55: The Trainman And The Magistra
56: A Convergence Of Fates, Part 3: I Won't Let You Fall

Epilogue: The Prose Of Photius, Record 3: The Flood Of Silence

PROTIP: The second novel is called A Labyrinth of Smoke. And since you've been so kind to read this far, here is the current chapter listing.

Prologue: Rickshaw Lake

1: The Cloud Atrium
2: Ghosts In The Flame
3: Children In Tree Branches
4: The First Scar
5: Subsidence
6: The Conspirators
7: Coin, Fire, Ice, Blood

If you've been with me this long, you've got my thanks.


Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Quantum Fall of Thaddeus Archibald DuBois Volume I Spotify Playlist

The Quantum Fall of Thaddeus Archibald DuBois Volume I playlist is available here for your listening pleasure.